Love Language - blog link up
Faith & Encouragement, LIFESTYLE

Love Language : Outside The Frame

Today’s Outside The Frame : Blog Link-up topic is all about LOVE LANGUAGES and sharing about how I personally feel most loved.  This is a perfect February topic … the topic of Love!

Incase you are not familiar with the 5 love languages, they are:

Words of Affirmation – Acts of Service – Receiving Gifts – Quality Time – Physical Touch

I have read and studied the 5 love languages multiple times through pre-marital counseling, church and different small groups, but I always seem to come to the same conclusion: I struggle to classify myself into a single category.  In fact, I am a strong mixture of a few languages at all times, but my season of life often dictates which love language I ascribe to.

love language - Link Up Post

Before we get started I think it is important that you have the opportunity to know and understand what your love language is.  CLICK HERE and take this short and simple questionnaire.  At the end you will have a better understanding of what your primary love language is.  Give it a try, it’s fun!

As a work-from-home mom of two, my love language at this particular time is Acts of Service.  This answer doesn’t surprise me. When my husband and I were dating I would have answered Receiving Gifts and Words of Affirmation.  However, 7 years and 2 kids later, life has become very busy and, at times, can get pretty tiresome. There are some days (ok, most days) where I feel like it is literally impossible to get it all done, so whenever my husband offers to assist me in any area of my life, I always feel so thankful and appreciative.  Of course I love to be complimented, surprised with date nights and special spontaneous presents (what girl doesn’t?), but right now when my husband offers to help around the house, or graciously offers to take the girls so that I can have a mommy break, my love tank is full!

love language - Link Up Post

My husband, on the other hand, is on the opposite spectrum of Acts of Service (Imagine that … opposites attract!).  His love language is Physical Touch.  Being so opposite in this area can be challenging at times because all he wants at the end of the day is quality time and cuddling, and all I can usually think about is my to-do list!

Knowing and understanding that you and your spouse can have different primary love languages is very important in your relationship.  It is a good reminder that everyone loves differently and to not hold one another to your personal love-language standard.  It is also a good reminder to provide your spouse with the love language they need, because in return you want to be shown your desired love language.

{Every time you or your partner speak each other’s language, you score emotional points with one another. Of course, this isn’t a game with a scorecard! The payoff of speaking each other’s love language is a greater sense of connection. This translates into better communication, increased understanding, and, ultimately, improved romance.} … (via

Thank you for joining me on this (bi-weekly) Blog Link-Up journey. I promise to continue to be open and honest with each post.  In return, I ask that you share with me what your answers are to each post’s topic and play along.  Comment below, I would love to know what your primary love language is and how you personally feel most loved.

Much Love!

CLICK HERE to find out more and to purchase – The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman.  It could be the perfect Valentine’s Day gift!

*I am thrilled to be joining in with Suzanne from The Glorious Mundane for her Outside The Frame (bi-weekly) Blog Link-up!  I am officially at 5 months now with my blog, and in that time I have already made so many fabulous blogger friends and I have fallen in love with the this blogging community.  I have been encouraged, inspired and loved by so many already and I am excited to explore this amazing Link-Up challenge.

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like


  • Reply Caroline February 4, 2016 at 1:13 am

    My love language is gifts and my husband’s is quality time! It took him a while to understand that needing gifts didn’t mean I was materialistic, just that I wanted physical evidence that he had been thinking about me.

    • Reply Jenna February 4, 2016 at 3:47 am

      Hi Caroline, Thank you for sharing! I totally get where you are coming from. I feel like the word “gifts” gives it an unnecessary negative twist. I agree, receiving gifts is such a kind way to show someone love, and I personally LOVE giving gifts to people! Have a beautiful Valentine’s Day!!! -Jenna

  • Reply Ashley @ My Food 'N Fitness Diaries February 4, 2016 at 5:14 am

    Love this topic! I am always intrigued by people’s love languages. I think it’s so important in not only your marriage, but friendships too. I’m all about the quality time with physical touch close behind.

    • Reply Jenna February 4, 2016 at 5:28 am

      Hi Ashley, Thank you for sharing! I agree, this is a really revealing topic. You can learn so much about yourself, your partner your friends and we can now start applying it to our children. Thanks for stopping by! Jenna

  • Reply Nancy February 6, 2016 at 8:37 pm

    I understand about opposites attracting. My husband’s love language is the hardest one for me to do. But he fell for me any way and we’ve made it through almost 30 years of marriage so far. 🙂

    • Reply Jenna February 6, 2016 at 9:54 pm

      Hi Nancy, Congratulations on 30 years of marriage! What a testimony! Thanks for sharing! Jenna

    • Reply Lore May 6, 2016 at 10:41 am

      I was so confused about what to buy, but this makes it unbnlstaedadre.

      • Reply Jenna May 8, 2016 at 9:56 pm

        Glad to hear Nancy!!!

    Leave a Reply